Menu Close


Dr. Fualal Jane Odubu MbChB, M.MED[surg], FCS [ECSA], Dip. HLM

Senior Consultant Surgeon, Head Breast and Endocrine Surgical Unit at Mulago National Referral Hospital, Past president Asscociation of Surgeons of Uganda.  Hon. Lecturer Department of Surgery. Awarded Model of Excellence by FAWE-U, and Community Service by Rotary Club of Luzira Kampala. Special Interest in Endocrine Surgery. Member of International Association of Endocrine Surgeons.

Immediate Past President

Prof.Godfrey Ignatius Muguti  MS(Syd) FCS(ECSA) FRCS(Edin) Hon.FRCS(Eng)

Professor Muguti occupies the Professorial Chair in the department of surgery,College of Health Sciences, University of Zimbabwe .He is also Clinical Professor of Surgery in the department of surgery,Stanford University School of Medicine,USA and Honorary Clinical Tutor,Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh,UK.He is a Council Member of COSECSA and is Co – Director of the COSECSA – University of Oxford Orthopaedic Link (COOL) Project.He has served as a Commissioner on the Zimbabwe Health Review Commission and Foundation President of the Surgical Society of Zimbabwe.He is past Editor – in – Chief of the Central African Journal of Medicine.His clinical and research interests are in general surgery and plastic and reconstructive surgery.

Vice President

Prof. Laston Chikoya  BSc, MBChB, MMed Surgery,MD Neurosurgery, FCS, IFAANS

Prof. Chikoya is the Deputy Vice Chancellor (administration) of the newly created Levy Mwanawasa Medical University in Lusaka, Zambia. He has been on the COSECSA Council since 2007. He served as Country Representative and is also the immediate past Chair of the Education, Scientific and Research Committee. Currently he is the Chairperson of the Institutional Review Board of College of Surgeons for East, Central and Southern Africa (COSECSA). Prof. Chikoya is a member of the Editorial Board, East and Central Africa Journal of Surgery. He is the immediate past Panel Head (program director) for Neurosurgery training in the ECSA region of 14 African Countries. He is also the immediate past president of the Surgical Society of Zambia.


Prof Eric Borgstein

Prof. Eric Borgstein is a pediatric surgeon, educator, and leader. For over 20 years, he has worked in Malawi increasing local surgical capacity through education and training. He is currently Professor of Surgery at the University of Malawi College of Medicine and consultant Pediatric surgeon at the Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital where he was instrumental in setting up its current surgical postgraduate training program. Prof. Borgstein is heavily involved in medical student, clinical officer, and intern and surgical resident training. He was previously the Chair of Examinations and Credientials Committee on the COSECSA and directs one of the few training programs in Pediatric surgery in Sub-Saharan Africa. Prof. Borgstein is currently working on the COST-Africa project which is an EU FP7 research grant studying surgical training of nonphysician clinicians in Malawi and Zambia.

Secretary General

Prof Abebe Bekele MD, FCS (GS), Specialty in General Surgery, Subspecialty in Thoracic Surgery

Prof. Bekele is the Founding Dean of Health Sciences for the University of Global Health Equity based in Rwanda. Initially, Prof Bekele served as Assistant Professor of Surgery in the Division of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Addis Ababa University School of Medicine (Addis Ababa, Ethiopia) and as a Dean of the School of Medicine. He was the first Visiting Fellow for the Institute for Simulation and Interprofessional Studies (ISIS) at the University of Washington USA. He is a former Country Representative for the Ethiopian Surgical Society.

Assistant Secretary General

Dr. Celestine B Mbangtang. MBBS  (Ibadan); DA (Ibadan); MMed (Surgery) Zimbabwe; FRCS (Edinburgh); FCS (ECSA); FICS.

General Surgeon with interest in Breast & Endocrine Surgery; Pain Management and Palliative Care. University of Namibia.


Dr Kitugi Samwel Nungu MD. Dip Trop Medicine – Cuba, MMed. Phd Othop. Dip Epid and Biostat.- Sweden. FCS (ECSA)

Dr Nungu is a Lecturer at Muhimbili University and a Consultant at Muhimbili Orthopaedic Institute Dar es Salaam. Tanzania. He was an active ASEA fellow then became a founding COSECSA fellow. He is sitting President Tanzania Orthopaedic Association; Past President Tanzania Surgical Association and Currently Country Representative of COSECSA in Tanzania and Panel Head Orthopaedics  – COSECSA.

Examinations and Credentials Committee - Chair

Prof Russell White MD, MPH, FACS, FCS(ECSA)

Prof. White is the chief of surgery and general surgery residency program director at Tenwek Hospital.  He attended medical school at the University of Michigan, obtained a master’s degree in public health from Harvard University, received his general surgery training at Brown University, and his cardiothoracic surgical training at Frenchay Hospital in Bristol, England.  He has served as a country representative for Kenya since 2011, and has served as the panel head for the MCS examination since 2014.  He is a professor of surgery at the Alpert School of Medicine at Brown University in the USA.  His special interests include cancer of the esophagus and rheumatic heart disease.

Education, Scientific and Research Committee - Chair

Dr Michael Mwachiro MBCHB, FCS (ECSA)

Dr Mwachiro is a COSECSA Country Representative for Kenya. He is a Consultant General Surgeon and also Director of Endoscopy services at Tenwek Hospital, Bomet. He is a surgical instructor and faculty for the Tenwek PAACS/COSECSA Surgery training program. He is also a council member of the Surgical Society of Kenya (SSK) and is chair of the Scientific and Research Committee. He has active research interest in early detection, treatment and palliation of oesophageal cancer.

Finance and General Purpose Committee - Chair

Dr Wakisa Mulwafu

Dr Mulwafu trained as an ENT Surgeon at the University of Cape Town. He works as an ENT Surgeon at Queen Elizabeth Central Hospital and as a Senior Lecturer in the College of Medicine, Malawi. He was Dean of the Faculty of Medicine from August 2013 to March 2015. He has been COSECSA Country Representative for Malawi since 2009.

COSECSA Council Country Representatives

Dr Bothwell MbuwayesangoCountry RepresentativeZIMBABWE
Dr. Kevin NdukuCountry RepresentativeZIMBABWE
Dr Sylvain NiyonkuruCountry RepresentativeBURUNDI
Dr Venerand BarendegereCountry RepresentativeBURUNDI
Dr Hanna GetachewCountry RepresentativeETHIOPIA
Dr Dereje Gulilat Country RepresentativeETHIOPIA
Dr Michael MwachiroCountry RepresentativeKENYA
Dr Mathenge Nduhia Country RepresentativeKENYA
Dr Emmy NkusiCountry RepresentativeRWANDA
Dr Georges NtakiyirutaCountry RepresentativeRWANDA
Dr Mayen AchiekCountry RepresentativeSOUTH SUDAN
TBDCountry RepresentativeSOUTH SUDAN
Prof Ahmed ElsayedCountry RepresentativeSUDAN
TBDCountry RepresentativeSUDAN
Dr Joel KiryabwireCountry RepresentativeUGANDA
Dr Jehoshaphat Jombwe Country RepresentativeUGANDA
Dr Paul KisangaCountry RepresentativeTANZANIA
Dr Billy HaongaCountry RepresentativeTANZANIA
Dr Gift MulimaCountry RepresentativeMALAWI
Dr Tiyamike Chilinjuka Country RepresentativeMALAWI
Dr Vanda Amado Country RepresentativeMOZAMBIQUE
Prof Sergio Salvador Country RepresentativeMOZAMBIQUE
Dr Celestine MbangtangCountry RepresentativeNAMIBIA
Dr Akutu Munyika Country RepresentativeNAMIBIA
Dr Seke KazumaCountry RepresentativeZAMBIA
Dr Colin WestCountry RepresentativeZAMBIA
Dr Steven Mannion Overseas RepresentativeUNITED KINGDOM
Prof Sherry Wren Overseas RepresentativeUSA
Dr Mpapho MostumiCountry RepresentativeBOTSWANA
Dr. Lesetedi ChiapoCountry RepresentativeBOTSWANA
Dr Mumba ChalweWiSA chairZAMBIA